Monday, 6 February 2017


     A two day seminar on ‘Recent Trends in South Indian Literature’ began on 06.02.2017 today at 10.00 A.M. in SRM University, Dr. T.P. Ganesan Mini Hall – I, Kattankulathur. At the Inaugural session, Sahitya Akademi Secretary Dr. K. Srinivasa Rao welcomed the gathering. Convener for Tamil Advisory Board of Sahitya Akademi Dr. Ki. Nachimuthu, introduce about the activities of Sahitya Akademi.

     The session was presided by Dr.N.Gopi, Convenor, Souther Regional Board of Sahitya Akademi. Emenient Tamil writer Ashoka Mitran delivered keynote address. The founder chancellor of SRM University Dr. T.R. Paarivendhar was the Chief Guest. Felicitations were offered by Prof. Prahbir K. Bagchi , Vice-Chancellor, SRM University and Dr. T.P. Ganesan, President of TamilPerayam & Pro-vice Chancellor of SRM University, SRM Tamilperayam Secretary Prof. Karu.Nagarajan delivered Vote of Thanks.

     The first session was about recent trends in South Indian fiction. The Chairperson was Dr.C.Mirunalini, Telugu Literary Personality. Mr.R. Arul presented his research article on Tamil Novel in the after noon session was on Recent Trends South Indian Short Story the Chairperson was Tamil Writer A. Mangai. Papers on this topics were presented by Sridhar Balagar (Cannda), Payipra Radhakrishnan (Malayalam) & V. Ramakrishnan (Tamil)

On 07.02.2017 sessions will be on Recent Trends South Indian Poetry and literary criticism a chairperson C. Naganna (Kanadam) for the poetry session. Dr.B.Ravi Kumar (Tamil), T.P. Rajeevan (Malayalam) and S. Raghu (Telugu) will deliver the research articles.

The Chairperson for the session on literary criticism will be Rachapalem Chanderashekar Reddy, Mr. M.S. Raghunath (Canada), V. Radhakrishnan (Malayalam) and Abhilash Chandran (Tamil) will present the research articles. The valedictory session will be chaired by Prof. Ki. Nachimuthu. Valedictory address will be by eminent Tamil writer R.N.Joe De Cruz, S. Faustina Bama member, General Council will be Chief Guest. Dr. N. Sethuraman, Registrar of the SRM University will felicitate the function. Seminar Co-ordinator Prof. M.J.Rabi Singh is to give the Vote of Thanks.

No comments:

Post a Comment