Friday, 30 October 2015

Vidya Balan Refuses To Return Her National Award !

Bollywood Actress Vidya Balan has refused to join the bunch of filmmakers, which include names like Dibakar Banerjee and Anand Patwardhan, who are returning their national awards as a means of protest against the FTII row. The Bollywood actress said, “This honour (the award) is by the nation and not the government. So I do not want to return it”.
The 37-year-old actress has received the National Award for best actress for her performance in The Dirty Picture in 2012.The actress said that she isn’t interested to join politics. She says that if she ever tries to do so, she would “fail miserably” at it.
As soon as the decision was announced to appoint BJP member Gajendra Chauhan as the chairman of FTTI, 12 filmmakers decided to return their respective national awards to the government. Thereafter, Anupam Kher slammed the bunch for disrespecting the censor board jury and the audiences who have watched their films. The filmmakers who have decided to return their awards include, Paresh Kamdar, Nishtha Jain, Kirti Nakhwa, Harshavardhan Kulkarni, Hari Nair, Rakesh Sharma, Indraneel Lahiri and Lipika Singh Darai.

No comments:

Post a Comment